Tana River County Assembly Rejects Governor’s Nominees for CeC Positions

Tana River County Assembly Speaker Michael Nkaduda Tana River County Assembly Speaker Michael Nkaduda

By The Coast Reporter

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Websit www.thecoast.co.ke

Tana River Governor Dhadho Gaddae Godhana is the first to suffer a major blow after the local County Assembly rejected all his nominees for the County Executive Committee positions.

The County Assembly Committee on Appointments threw out Major (rtd) Godhana’s list of seven nominees on the grounds that some had not been placed in dockets of their speciality while others had potential conflicts of interest.

The governor, who is currently out of the country, will therefore have to submit to the assembly a list of new nominees for consideration.

 In a twist of events, the committee’s report, which was tabled in the assembly by Majority Leader Ibrahim Sala Adamow (Bangale), was rejected by the minority side, which read malice and settling of scores in the list’s rejection.

 Deputy Speaker Saddam Hussein (Wayu), who appended his signature to the report, disowned and opposed it on the floor of the house saying he did not know that signing it amounted to agreeing with the committee’s decision.

 Minority Leader Abdi Ergamso said he had declined to participate in writing the report and hence refused to append his signature to it on the grounds that the majority decision was meant to marginalize some communities.

Moving the motion on the report, Mr. Adamow said all the nominees had passed the integrity test under Chapter Six of the Constitution but did not exhibit knowledge and competence in the dockets to which they had been nominated.

He said the governor’s list of nominees had not met the constitutionally requirement of the two thirds gender rule and that it did not include persons with disabilities.

He said all the seven nominees failed to reach the committee’s set pass mark of 60 percent, with the highest, Mrs. Mwanajuma Habwoka Hiribae (Water, Energy, Environment and Natural Resources), scoring 58 percent and the lowest, Mr. Shukri Sugow Adhan scoring 34 percent.

“The committee observed that the nominees did not exhibit impressive and sufficient knowledge of topical and legal issues touching on their dockets and have no requisite abilities, qualifications and experience,” he said.

Committee members said that some of the nominees exhibited arrogance at times he attempted to lecture members during the vetting process at the Laza Leisure Lodge in Hola Town during the vetting time.

Mr. Adamow and Kinakomba Ward Member of County Assembly Sammy Malibe said for the county to develop, it needs competent CEC members who did not have any potential conflicts of interests.

“In the last regime, this house was a mere rubber stamp of the executive. We will not allow this to happen again because in the end, it is this house that will be blamed if things do not go right,” Mr. Malibe said.

 Mrs. Rhoda Katisha Raha (Garsen South), Mohamed Gabo (Garsen West), Manasse Guyo (Kipini West) said they did not have any issue with the governor but urged him to follow the law and laid down regulations in appointing members of his county cabinet.

Those who opposed the motion included Saddam, Ergamso, Kipini West’s Musa Wario and Hirimani’s Ismael Bodha Kodobo.

Rate this item
(0 votes)



« March 2018 »
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  



    • KILIFI
    • KWALE
    • LAMU


Go to top